Skip to content
Prices and services checked on each business's own website

Horse boarding guide

Horse Boarding Explained: Full, Partial and Pasture Board

What horse boarding is, the types of board from full to pasture, what each includes, typical monthly prices and how to choose a barn near you.

By the Barnmap team · Updated November 1, 2026 · 7 min read

Horse boarding means paying a barn or farm to keep and care for your horse, usually for a monthly fee. What you get depends on the type of board: full board covers daily feeding, stall cleaning and turnout, partial board splits those jobs between you and the barn, and pasture board keeps your horse turned out around the clock, with hay and feed varying by barn. Among the prices establishments publish and Barnmap lists across the US as of October 2026, the median monthly price is $650 for full board, $425 for pasture board and $450 for partial board.

Key takeaways

  • Horse boarding: a barn keeps and cares for your horse for a fee.
  • Eight types: full, partial, pasture, self-care, stall, training, retirement, rehab.
  • Median monthly price: full board $650, pasture $425, partial $450.
  • Names vary by barn: get what is included in writing.

What is horse boarding and how does it work?

UK Ag Equine Programs describes boarding as a horse being kept and managed at a farm for a fee. Fees can be daily for short stays, such as a mare waiting to be bred or to foal, or monthly for long-term board when an owner does not have a farm. When you are boarding a horse long term, the number to compare is the monthly price a barn publishes for its board type.

Penn State Extension notes that the more services a barn provides, the higher the boarding fee, so the type of board you pick sets both your workload and your bill. It also recommends a written contract that spells out what both sides expect. In practice, the path looks like this:

  1. Pick a board type
  2. Shortlist barns
  3. Visit and ask
  4. Sign a contract
  5. Move in

What types of horse board are there?

Barns use these names loosely, so treat the definitions below as starting points. Penn State Extension notes that a board price may or may not include blanket changes, holding for the vet or farrier, deworming, two or three meals a day, stall cleaning, bedding and feed.

Full board

The staff handle all of the daily feeding, stall cleaning and turnout.

  • Penn State Extension calls it typically the most expensive option.

Partial board

This is the middle ground between full board and self-care: the barn takes on some of the daily jobs and you keep the rest.

  • The extension publications cited below do not set a standard split, so barns divide the work in different ways.

Pasture board

Penn State Extension describes a horse kept on pasture with fresh water, normally with a shelter or protected area.

  • The horse is turned out 24/7.
  • The price may or may not include hay, grain and other full-board services.

Self-care board

The barn provides a field or a stall, and all horse care is up to you, which means coming out daily to feed and clean stalls.

  • In cooperative board, a group of boarders takes turns caring for all of the horses.

Four more labels come up in the listings:

  • Stall only. Barnmap uses this label for barns that publish a price for a stall under that name. Penn State Extension describes stall board as the stable maintaining the stall and feeding the horse, ideally with daily time on pasture or in an exercise area, so confirm who does what.
  • Training board. A professional works with your horse to teach specific tasks such as jumping or racing. UK Ag Equine Programs says most trainers want at least a 90-day commitment, and that the training fee includes board while the horse is at the trainer’s farm.
  • Retirement board. Barns use this label for board aimed at horses no longer in regular work. Only 29 retirement-board prices are in the data, so treat them as rough.
  • Rehab and layup. Barns use this label for care of horses recovering from an injury or illness, which Penn State Extension calls lay-up care and says is boarded at a much higher fee. Only 23 prices are in the data, so treat them as rough, and ask your veterinarian what a recovering horse needs.

Penn State Extension also describes deluxe board, which might add grooming, basic veterinary care and exercising.

What does a horse board price include?

Barnmap records what each barn says about inclusions on its own website. The table counts the offers that mention each item, out of the offers that list inclusions for that type. A barn that does not mention an item may still provide it, or may charge extra, so read this as what barns tend to advertise, not as a guarantee. A 0 means no offer in the data mentions the item.

Item mentioned Full board (946 offers) Partial board (76) Pasture board (451) Self-care board (74)
Hay 599 31 288 21
Turnout 593 39 218 31
Grain or feed 571 38 221 21
Stall cleaning 500 22 5 3
Blanketing 298 10 82 1
Shavings or bedding 245 11 3 11
Water 205 12 118 21
Fly spray or masks 139 2 37 0
Holding for vet or farrier 47 0 11 0
About 6 in 10full-board offers mention hay (599 of 946) or turnout (593)
About 1 in 2mention stall cleaning (500 of 946)
47 of 946mention holding the horse for the vet or farrier

Tip: UK Ag Equine Programs lists separate fees for bedding, feed, veterinary services, handling such as turnout or blanketing, and farrier work as common sources of boarding-farm income, so those are the items to pin down.

How much does horse board cost per month?

These are prices published by establishments and listed on Barnmap as of October 2026: the lowest monthly price each barn publishes for that board type. Prices change, so confirm current rates with the barn.

Full board$200 – $3,650 · median $650 / month
Pasture board$100 – $1,275 · median $425 / month
Partial board$200 – $900 · median $450 / month
Self-care board$40 – $750 · median $300 / month
Training board$295 – $3,500 · median $1,200 / month
Stall only$85 – $1,500 · median $525 / month
Retirement board$275 – $1,400 · median $650 / month
Rehab & layup$325 – $1,650 · median $1,100 / month
Board, type not stated$85 – $2,250 · median $550 / month

lowest to highest published price median

The table adds the number of prices listed and the middle half, the range from the 25th to the 75th percentile.

Board type Listings Middle half
Full board 752 $510 to $860
Pasture board 438 $325 to $550
Partial board 74 $375 to $550
Self-care board 84 $250 to $420
Training board 135 $850 to $1,500
Stall only 39 $385 to $700
Retirement board 29 $450 to $750
Rehab & layup 23 $950 to $1,300
Board, type not stated 391 $425 to $785

Watch out: Names do not map neatly to services: the pasture-board and partial-board middle halves overlap ($325 to $550 against $375 to $550). Full board alone runs from $200 to $3,650, so the label tells you little without the inclusions list.

For prices by state and what drives them, read our horse boarding cost guide.

How do you choose a horse boarding facility?

Match the board type to three things: what your horse needs, how much time you have and what you can spend. Then compare barns on the details a price can hide.

Which board type fits you?

Full board suits owners with limited daily time, and Penn State Extension says it can be a good way to learn about equine care. UF/IFAS Extension says horses that must be confined still need continuous food intake and a diet based mainly on forage, so ask how hay is fed through the day.

Partial board suits owners who can show up on a predictable schedule but cannot cover every job every day, so write down which tasks are yours. Self-care board means coming out every day, and its median of $300 is the lowest of the named types in the table. Choose training board when you want a professional to work with the horse, and plan for the 90-day commitment. For retirement board, ask your veterinarian what an older horse needs, then ask the barn about turnout, shelter and monitoring.

Is horse pasture boarding a good fit?

Pros

  • It costs less in the listings than full board.
  • UF/IFAS Extension says a horse’s anatomy was designed for continuous grazing.
  • Free-ranging horses organize themselves into small, relatively stable herds, which turnout can echo.

Cons

  • Hay and feed vary by barn, so confirm what the price covers.
  • You need to check for shelter, fresh water and herd mates.
  • Ask your veterinarian whether your horse can live out year-round.

What should you ask before you sign?

Get the answers in writing. Penn State Extension advises consulting an attorney before signing any contract. Use this list:

  • Feed. How many meals a day, how much hay, and is grain or feed included?
  • Turnout. How many hours, and which horses go out together? Penn State Extension suggests asking how the barn decides.
  • Stall care and bedding. How often is the stall cleaned, and is bedding included? Only 245 of 946 full-board offers mention shavings or bedding.
  • Vet and farrier visits. Will staff hold your horse, and for what fee? Only 47 of 946 offers mention it.
  • Emergencies. Can the barn make medical decisions if it cannot reach you? Penn State Extension suggests specifying a dollar limit for care.
  • Fees and notice. Ask for the fee rate and when each payment is due. Extension Horses notes that most contracts require 30 to 90 days’ notice to end the agreement.

For a fuller walkthrough, see how to choose a horse boarding barn.

Where can you find horse boarding stables near you?

Barnmap lists barns by state with the prices each business publishes on its own website. The table shows the median monthly price and, in brackets, the number of prices listed for every state with full-board or pasture-board prices. A dash means no price of that type is listed yet, and states with neither are not shown. Medians based on a handful of listings can swing widely, so read the small ones as rough.

State Full board Pasture board
Alabama $600 (3) $350 (5)
Arizona $500 (13) $450 (4)
Arkansas $525 (3) $300 (6)
California $600 (41) $450 (41)
Colorado $545 (23) $512 (16)
Connecticut $925 (18) –
Florida $850 (59) $500 (28)
Georgia $772 (26) $425 (12)
Idaho $462 (6) –
Illinois $650 (12) $388 (12)
Indiana $560 (15) $338 (6)
Iowa – $400 (3)
Kansas $562 (8) $300 (7)
Kentucky $600 (14) $300 (11)
Louisiana $620 (3) $345 (4)
Maine $850 (7) –
Maryland $802 (22) $488 (16)
Massachusetts $950 (10) –
Michigan $600 (17) $450 (14)
Minnesota $590 (9) $378 (22)
Mississippi $522 (6) –
Missouri $575 (7) $350 (13)
Montana $550 (8) $400 (11)
Nebraska $650 (3) $250 (3)
New Hampshire $750 (12) –
New Jersey $900 (15) $462 (6)
New Mexico $450 (6) –
New York $646 (28) $488 (14)
North Carolina $800 (47) $500 (27)
Ohio $550 (29) $250 (4)
Oklahoma $638 (6) $375 (6)
Oregon $600 (18) $350 (7)
Pennsylvania $610 (35) $400 (19)
South Carolina $800 (13) $588 (8)
Tennessee $725 (22) $475 (12)
Texas $650 (72) $499 (29)
Utah $500 (10) $450 (3)
Virginia $700 (40) $400 (28)
Washington $735 (34) $590 (7)
West Virginia $750 (3) –
Wisconsin $496 (17) $325 (18)
Wyoming $500 (4) –

To compare horse boarding facilities, open the state page you need from the table above, such as horse boarding in Florida, in Texas or in California, browse horse boarding across all states, or pick a state on the Barnmap states page. Then call or message the barns on your shortlist with the questions above. For a shortlist of barns, see Barnmap Picks, and for more help, browse the Barnmap guides.

Sources

This guide is general information for horse owners, not veterinary or legal advice. Prices come from what establishments publish on their own websites, as listed on Barnmap on the date shown. How we check

More guides